Best way to work with a domain registrar with no

Dipps

Hi all. Sorry if this is a dumb question, I have read a lot but still not getting it.

I'm new to WHMCS - have a couple of hundred domains I'd like to bill through it. They're with a registrar that doesn't have a module for WHMCS.

So I think I might as well invoice renewals on custom invoices, not having WHMCS treat them as domains at all. I have to do renewals, changes etc on the registrar's website anyway. Can't see any reason for WHMCS to duplicate the renewal reminders that the registrar sends.

Or is there an advantage to using the Email Notifications registrar module?

Thanks... Pete

Hi Pete,

I'm new to WHMCS - have a couple of hundred domains I'd like to bill through it. They're with a registrar that doesn't have a module for WHMCS.

you can add them to WHMCS manually...

https://docs.whmcs.com/Importing_Data#Manual_Domain_Only_Entry

So I think I might as well invoice renewals on custom invoices, not having WHMCS treat them as domains at all. I have to do renewals, changes etc on the registrar's website anyway. Can't see any reason for WHMCS to duplicate the renewal reminders that the registrar sends.

Or is there an advantage to using the Email Notifications registrar module?

why have a horse & cart, but drag the cart yourself - get the horse to do the work!

if you add the domains to WHMCS, enable the cron automation and let WHMCS generate/send the invoices for you at the appropriate times before expiry, then once payment is received mark the invoice as paid and WHMCS will send them a payment confirmation invoice/email and change the due date... then next time it's due for renewal, the whole process beings again.

the advantage is once you've added the domains, WHMCS can handle the process... your way of regularly creating custom invoices would surely lead to you doing more work and I would hope you have better things to do with your time than create invoices! :idea: