Community Forums

Discuss, share and get help from our community of friendly WHMCS users

Close
Login to Your Account
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    63

    Default WHMCS 7 - Showcase & Customization | 3-www.net

    Hello,

    We integrate-customize our default portal template,
    most of them are simple changes which we all can do into our default template,
    now we wand to find a way to have multilanguage product view for our default 1st page,

    https://3-www.net

    We welcome any opinion or advice,
    Thanks Ody
    Last edited by ody; 03-14-17 at 02:15 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    63

    Default Re: WHMCS 7 - Showcase & Customization | 3-www.net

    No any comment ???

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    351

    Default Re: WHMCS 7 - Showcase & Customization | 3-www.net

    Quote Originally Posted by ody View Post
    Hello,

    We integrate-customize our default portal template,
    most of them are simple changes which we all can do into our default template,
    now we wand to find a way to have multilanguage product view for our default 1st page,

    https://3-www.net

    We welcome any opinion or advice,
    Thanks Ody
    What do you mean exactly with product view for our default 1st page?

    You can translate the Product Names and Product Description by hitting the Translate button next to it from Setup > Products/Services

    The language files for your site templates can be translated in:
    /whmcs/lang

    Create a new folder there called overrides, then copy the languages you want to translate to that folder and you can edit them. Don't translate the originals as they will be overwritten in future upgrades.
    An ash I know there stands, a tall tree, connecting the nine worlds. Yggdrasill is its name.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    63

    Default Re: WHMCS 7 - Showcase & Customization | 3-www.net

    Sorry yggdrasil for my delay to answer to your reply & thank you for it,
    as you might see we use the translation WHMCS tool,

    what we want is,
    we have modify our WHMCS default index page, but most of it is in our default language (English),
    we want to find a way when a client changes to his native language our homepage to also change all of our intro data into clients language,

    like pictures, banners, explanation etc.
    now WHMCS changing onlt menus and announcements,

    Thank you, Ody

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    351

    Default Re: WHMCS 7 - Showcase & Customization | 3-www.net

    I told you this before. You need to use the language files and add your custom text into them.

    Here:
    https://developers.whmcs.com/languages/overrides/

    If you expect WHMCS to translate your text and images for you automatically. No, it can’t do that. It’s not a translator. You have to create every single word in every single language and the same is true for images, you will have to create the images in every language you want to display first. Then in your templates you would point the text and images to the language variables. WHMCS can’t display something you didn’t instruct him to display.
    An ash I know there stands, a tall tree, connecting the nine worlds. Yggdrasill is its name.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,419

    Default Re: WHMCS 7 - Showcase & Customization | 3-www.net

    Quote Originally Posted by yggdrasil View Post
    WHMCS can’t display something you didn’t instruct him to display.
    WHMCS is male?

    but yggdrasil is absolutely correct about language overrides - it's well worth a read as it's a feature you'll need to learn about...

    with regards to images, it may be helpful if I explain a little further... for the sake of simplicity, let's say we have two images (e.g flags), German & British, and we want to display the correct flag for the language chosen - so if it's English, we show the UK flag, if German, we show their flag... let's also assume that their filenames contain the language (makes life easier), so english-flag.png and german-flag.png, and they're in the '/assets/img/ folder.

    in the template, to show the appropriate flag for the chosen language, it would just be this...

    PHP Code:
    <img src="../{$BASE_PATH_IMG}/{$language}-flag.png"
    now, if you've created images for each language, this should always work... but if you don't create them all, then you might start seeing missing image errors...

    if you want to get around that, you could check that the image exists in the folder, and only if it does, display it.

    PHP Code:
    {assign flagicon "../{$BASE_PATH_IMG}/{$language}-flag.png"}
    {if 
    $file_exists($flagicon)}<img src="{$flagicon}">{/if} 
    as long as you use the appropriate language in the image filename, you should now be able to show the correct image for the chosen language... obviously, in the example i'm using flags, but you could do the same for any of the 30+ different images you have on the opening page.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    63

    Default Re: WHMCS 7 - Showcase & Customization | 3-www.net

    Thank you both for your help,

    this kind of solution it's a huge work and it will need every time when you make any change to re-write again these entries!!!

    we shall try now a solution based on whmcms module, (which is auto ready for translated pages), so to inject them into our homepage,
    we try both ways as like new pages or portofolio solution,
    we have to solve how to insert only the needed data & images and avoid to insert the rest of them as like header, navbar footer etc.

    The issue is that WHMCS have no any ready solution so some of our products to be viewed into our homepage,
    as like when you create a product group (shared hosting or VPS servers or etc...) and add some products-plans to give you an option one of them to be added into our 1st page !!!

    Their philosophy its old one base on that WHMCS works behind an another website (wordpress or joomla or ...) so there you have to promote your services etc. and not as a stand alone website
    and if you decide to have a WP website for frontpage store, (as many WHMCS users done), this is double work for everything.
    Last edited by ody; 03-19-17 at 01:38 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,419

    Default Re: WHMCS 7 - Showcase & Customization | 3-www.net

    Quote Originally Posted by ody View Post
    this kind of solution it's a huge work and it will need every time when you make any change to re-write again these entries!!!
    as would any solution of this kind - unless it's magically translating it for you.... not even WHMCMS will do that, you'll still need to manually enter the translations and update them.

    Quote Originally Posted by ody View Post
    The issue is that WHMCS have no any ready solution so some of our products to be viewed into our homepage,
    as like when you create a product group (shared hosting or VPS servers or etc...) and add some products-plans to give you an option one of them to be added into our 1st page !!!
    then you put a bit of effort in - create the layout and fill the content using data feeds - I daresay they'd be multilingual too if coded correctly.

    Quote Originally Posted by ody View Post
    Their philosophy its old one base on that WHMCS works behind an another website (wordpress or joomla or ...) so there you have to promote your services etc. and not as a stand alone website
    and if you decide to have a WP website for frontpage store, (as many WHMCS users done), this is double work for everything.
    not really, there are WP solutions for things like that.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    63

    Default Re: WHMCS 7 - Showcase & Customization | 3-www.net

    With whmcms you have the solution to work with editor which is much easier than to re-write every time code,

    content using data feeds???,
    there are WP solutions for things like that
    we know most of the WP-WHMCS plugins but the theme is that you still have to take care and work for 2 different website installation, safety etc.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    351

    Default Re: WHMCS 7 - Showcase & Customization | 3-www.net

    Quote Originally Posted by ody View Post
    Thank you both for your help,

    this kind of solution it's a huge work and it will need every time when you make any change to re-write again these entries!!!

    we shall try now a solution based on whmcms module, (which is auto ready for translated pages), so to inject them into our homepage,
    we try both ways as like new pages or portofolio solution,
    we have to solve how to insert only the needed data & images and avoid to insert the rest of them as like header, navbar footer etc.

    The issue is that WHMCS have no any ready solution so some of our products to be viewed into our homepage,
    as like when you create a product group (shared hosting or VPS servers or etc...) and add some products-plans to give you an option one of them to be added into our 1st page !!!

    Their philosophy its old one base on that WHMCS works behind an another website (wordpress or joomla or ...) so there you have to promote your services etc. and not as a stand alone website
    and if you decide to have a WP website for frontpage store, (as many WHMCS users done), this is double work for everything.
    What Brian posted is how I do it but there are for sure other ways. Just use a different folder based on the language for different images. You can do this for everything, JavaScript, images, etc. Text can go directly into language files.

    As for the huge work. Yes, but it is a huge work regardless of what software you are using. Maintaining a site in several languages is indeed a huge task. There is no other way around it. For example, if you are selling in 3 languages, and you write a page, you will need to make sure the text exists for all 3 languages and the images were also created for all 3 versions and the videos where also created in 3 languages.

    You see the issue here? You know have 3 times as much work because you need to maintain 3 different versions (one for each language). No software can help you here.
    The best you can do if you want to avoid working is put a Google Translate button that will translate all the text on the fly (not images) and it will look ugly and not very professional.
    WHMCS will not do the work of translations for you. No software can do magic. You will need to create the translations, images, etc., all on your own. WHMCS can only display them.
    An ash I know there stands, a tall tree, connecting the nine worlds. Yggdrasill is its name.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,419

    Default Re: WHMCS 7 - Showcase & Customization | 3-www.net

    Quote Originally Posted by ody View Post
    With whmcms you have the solution to work with editor which is much easier than to re-write every time code,
    you're not rewriting code every time - you re-write it once to make it use language strings, then you just edit the language strings (which are basically just text files) - but if you prefer to use an editor to do the exact same thing, then that's your choice.

    Quote Originally Posted by ody View Post
    content using data feeds???
    http://docs.whmcs.com/Data_Feeds

    The Data Feeds in WHMCS are a dynamic way for extracting data from WHMCS for use on the pages of your website.
    They allow you to get information out of WHMCS such as product names, descriptions and pricing in real-time, onto the static pages of your site, so that if ever make a change inside WHMCS it will auto update on your website.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    351

    Default Re: WHMCS 7 - Showcase &amp; Customization | 3-www.net

    Quote Originally Posted by brian! View Post
    WHMCS is male?
    Yes, sure. The Web Hosting Manager Complete Solution (WHMCS) or the software.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by ody View Post
    With whmcms you have the solution to work with editor which is much easier than to re-write every time code,


    we know most of the WP-WHMCS plugins but the theme is that you still have to take care and work for 2 different website installation, safety etc.
    You can use any web editor or text editor you want to edit the language files. That is even easier and better than using some web editor inside WHMCS that you have to click and save all the time. Much quicker and faster just to edit all the text in the file in your favorite editor and upload it once with all the changes.

    No need for 2 installations. WHMCS can handle as many languages as you want. Yes it requires some work but like anything in life. Creating a site in more than language is always going to be a lot of work, this is completely unrelated to WHMCS. Even if you where not using WHMCS you would be doing a version for each language for your site.
    An ash I know there stands, a tall tree, connecting the nine worlds. Yggdrasill is its name.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    63

    Default Re: WHMCS 7 - Showcase & Customization | 3-www.net

    Thank you all for your advices and for your help,
    I think that we have now many ways about how to solve it,

    we welcome also any comment about how it looks our website.

Similar Threads

  1. Showcase - Customization + WHMCS 7 Responsive - Dewlance®
    By DewlanceHosting in forum Community Users Showcase
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-28-17, 07:25 AM
  2. Work Request: WHMCS Theme Design & Customization
    By EricGregoryTSS in forum Service Offers & Requests
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-01-16, 09:17 PM
  3. Joomla & WHCMS showcase
    By spiderswebdesign in forum Community Users Showcase
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 05-03-10, 06:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •