Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Hosting Credit on Purchase

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Hosting Credit on Purchase

    Is it possible to set WHMCS up where when the user buys a hosting account, they don't have to put in or register a domain name? Instead create a hosting credit (like GoDaddy) so on the customers services page they see a setup link and then they are asked for the domain name and or registration?

    I hope I explained this plainly enough.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northumberland, UK
    Posts
    2,954

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kenada View Post
    Is it possible to set WHMCS up where when the user buys a hosting account, they don't have to put in or register a domain name?
    Quote Originally Posted by kenada View Post
    Instead create a hosting credit (like GoDaddy) so on the customers services page they see a setup link and then they are asked for the domain name and or registration?

    I hope I explained this plainly enough.
    their is no difference in your 2 statement above. either way they are being asked to provide a domain name or register a domain name.

    if what you mean is that when then originally order hosting etc. you dont want the domain options then yes, all you do when you create a product/service under the details page is uncheck Require Domain
    Last edited by easyhosting; 05-03-12 at 09:36 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    But how does the user add his domain name to the hosting account?
    Is this in WHMCS or in cpanel?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I created a new account, linked it to my cpanel, set it to not auto setup, and not to require a domain name.
    Bought the hosting, now how do I add the domain to this hosting account?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northumberland, UK
    Posts
    2,954

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kenada View Post
    I created a new account, linked it to my cpanel, set it to not auto setup, and not to require a domain name.
    Bought the hosting, now how do I add the domain to this hosting account?
    so how how you link it to cpanel without a domain?

    A user can regsiter an account in your WHMCS frontend or ordser hosting without entering a domain on orderering, you can then manually add the domain in the clients profile and then set this up automatically on the server in cpanel. but yoiu need a domaion or sub domain to set up a cpanel account

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Ok let me try to explain one more time.

    I want my customer to buy a hosting account. No domain name needed, nothing in cpanel will be done at this point. Then after the user has bought their package, instead of seeing the View Details button, they see Setup Your Hosting or something like that. When they press that button then they are asked for a domain name or they register one and that domain name is used to create their hosting account.

    This is the way Godaddy works and for our business model it is the way we want it. We are selling specialized hosting account and we want people to be able to buy it now and connect a domain themselves later.

    Again no hosting account is made untill they set it up and that is after they have already paid.

    We do not want to have to manually enter anything. Yes I know that is one way but that is not how we want to do it.
    If any one is up to the challenge I have a job on scriptlance for just this thing. just search WHMCS Modifcations.
    Last edited by kenada; 05-05-12 at 01:42 AM. Reason: Extra thought

Similar Threads

  1. Help with hosting notification after purchase through whmcs
    By GTA in forum Technical Issues and Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-24-12, 02:50 AM
  2. Purchase hosting with free domain
    By eddiez88 in forum Technical Issues and Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-05-12, 03:06 AM
  3. Link to purchase domain only (without hosting)
    By ashworth102680 in forum Customisation and Integration Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-07-10, 02:55 AM
iron-diatonic